Agricultural Ground Water Coordination Committee

The Agricultural Ground Water Quality Protection Program for Idaho (1996) was passed by the Idaho Legislature and signed by Governor Phil Batt in 1995.  The Agricultural Ground Water Coordination Committee meets annually and works to manage the implementation of the interagency and private sector approaches to agricultural ground water quality protection.  ISDA is the chair of the committee.

This committee will solicit comments from the general public and will provide opportunities for local participation and review.  This committee will also coordinate the activities of the various work groups and committees relative to agricultural ground water programs.

Committee Membership

  • Idaho State Department of Agriculture (ISDA)
    - Committee Chair
  • Idaho Association of Soil Conservation Districts (IASCD)
  • Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
  • Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR)
  • Soil Conservation Commission (SCC)
  • University of Idaho Cooperative Extension Service (CES)
  • Environmental Protection Agency Boise Office (EPA)
  • Environmental Protection Agency Seattle Office (EPA)
  • USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
  • Bureau of Reclamation (BOR)
  • Agricultural Chemical Industry (Idaho Crop Production Association)
  • Agricultural Producers (Idaho Farm Bureau Federation)
  • Idaho Water Users Association
  • Idaho Dairyman Association
  • Environmental Groups
  • Education & Research Group ((Idaho Water Resources Research Institute (IWRRI))

Membership may include:

  • Additional federal agencies (Bureau of Reclamation, Bureau of Land Management)
  • USDA Forest Service
  • Additional state agencies (Idaho Dept. of Parks and Recreation)
  • Water user groups (Irrigation Districts)
  • Local government representatives (Idaho Association of Cities, Idaho Association of Counties)
  • City representatives, city or county planning and zoning representatives
  • Other stakeholders